Geralyn Wichers

"Life is a great adventure, or nothing"

“Which would you rather be if you had the choice–divinely beautiful or dazzlingly clever or angelically good?”–Lucy Maud Montgomery.

Humour the thought for a moment. Say you could remain where you are in the other two, which would you choose? Which would I choose?

Divinely beautiful? I’d never call myself ugly. I think I’d fall into the ‘average and does well with what she has’ category, or so I’d like to think. I’ve always wanted to be thinner, have fewer blemishes, and figure out how to tame my curly hair. Of course I want to be beautiful.

But divine? You see, I’m afraid that if I were movie-star, red-carpet beautiful, people wouldn’t treat me the same. They’d be distracted by my face… or my boobs. And I’d rather be thought of as ‘me’ than hot.

So, not that one. Though if anyone knows how to tame curly hair…

Okay, how about dazzlingly clever. Now this has real appeal, because I have a bit of a complex about being smart. I remember crying in high school because I couldn’t get my marks up just a couple percent so I could graduate with honours. Well, if I hadn’t been taking Advanced Physics and Calculus, maybe I would have been fine! My parents weren’t making me take those, I was!

I just wanted to be smart.

My hardest course in college was history. The prof had a reputation for writing brutal exams, and wouldn’t hesitate to fail someone. I was determined to ‘beat him’. I studied a solid eight hours for the exam and woke up thinking ‘history!’ I walked into class, was handed the exam and realized I knew all the answers. I sat there, vibrating going ‘I got this!’ When I got the exam back in my mailbox with the 100% on the front, I sank to the floor and shouted “Yes!”

If I was genius wouldn’t I be able to do that all the time?

Oh, but that would be too easy. I wouldn’t have to fight for it. It’s the fight that makes it a good story.

Well, not that one I guess.

*sigh*

Angelically good. Oh, this one strikes close to the heart. I wish I were good. I wish I no longer struggled with pride, impurity, lack of self-control, malice. I wish could say that I’d never, ever hurt someone again.

Could I be angelically ‘good’?

But in the end, I can be none of these things and I don’t need to be. I am who I am, by God’s grace, and designed exactly for the spot I’m in.

And so are you.

So, which did you pick? Let me know. Perhaps none of those three appealed? How about ‘outrageously athletic’ or ‘divine singer’ or ‘fantastic cook’. Oooh. Now there’s a thought.

10 thoughts on “Would You Rather Be Beautiful, Smart or Good?

  1. Divine beautiful. The good get trampled; the intelligent are never happy. If people were differential to me because of how I looked, well, then they’d get a chance to find out how intelligent and good I really am….. ;0p

    1. Yeah, I hear you. It would be nice to get a second glance or two. 🙂

  2. ashokbhatia says:

    Rather than going in for an either/or choice, ideal would be to have a combination! Something like one third each?!

    1. Yeah, I was like ‘maybe a ten percent increase in all?’ But if you had to pick, which would it be?

      1. ashokbhatia says:

        We live in times when packaging is more important than the product itself! If one has beauty (hopefully inner as well), there is a good chance that one would be perceived as being intelligent as well as….!

      2. That works in the movies. Not sure about ‘real life.’

  3. I think I would choose the one that is more like my alter-ego. I believe that everyone has something that they don’t like, so they create an alter-ego. My alter-ego is really strong and manipulator (not too much, cause that would be really bad and mean). I am too sensitive, I feel sorry and I cry a lot (way too many times in my opinion). So I belive that I would change that about me. It’s not in the above options, but it would be my pick

    1. That’s cool. Do you ‘put on’ your alter ego in certain scenarios, or are they your inner self? I’m intrigued.

      1. It’s my inner self definitely, but I would like it to be me (in some ocasions, not all the time).
        By the way, I love your blog and the way you write. It’s funny but realistic at the same time. Pretty awesome 🙂

      2. Thanks 🙂
        I’m a pretty sensitive soul myself. I don’t think that’s a bad thing–thick skin, soft heart. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

