Geralyn Wichers

"Life is a great adventure, or nothing"

November is National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, the month in which thousands of crazies who call themselves writers embark on a quest to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

Insane? Oh yes.

I didn’t even consider the possibility until about six weeks ago. I was like “No, I can’t possibly. I don’t have time.” and then I was like “But I have this idea. Maybe if I plan it out?” And once I started on the possibility thinking train, well, things just snowballed. So, here I am, with much fear and trepidation, on November first.

By a turn of luck called “talking to the supervisor at the right time”, or by God’s blessing, or both, I have the day off. So, last night I jacked myself up on coffee and stayed up until the clock struck twelve. Whereupon I pulled out my trusty MacBook and started a new document, put it in the right format, and wrote the opening line. An hour later I had 1740 words and I decided to quit while I was ahead.

This morning i wrote some more, and now I’m at 3491 words.

But all days won’t be like today because, face it, I work two jobs. So, the blog is going to have to wait until NaNo is done. If you’re curious what I’m up to, or how I’m doing, like Children of the Words on Facebook, or follow @GeralynWichers on Twitter. I’ll see you in a month. Maybe, if I’m lucky, my sanity will still be intact!

2 thoughts on “Off Into the NaNoverse, or Happy Trails Until We Meet Again.

  1. chornung88 says:

    Best of luck to you!!!!

Leave a Reply

